apple

Do you have a solitary Time Machine drive that you use to support numerous Macs? Or a Time Machine drive you were utilizing before upgrading computers? If these put on you – or for various other reasons – you might risk running out of drive space. There’s an incredibly very easy way to obtain that space back by erasing these old data backups, and you can do it straight from within the Time Device user interface. Continue reading and also we’ll show you how you can erase your old Time Equipment backup files.

To start erasing your old Time Device backups from your drive, perform the adhering to steps:

1. Plug in your exterior drive including your Time Device backups.

2. Open the Finder.

3. Trigger Time Equipment with the Finder visible by clicking the moment Equipment symbol in the menu bar and also picking Go into Time Device (or by launching the Time Machine application from/ Applications).

4. Navigate to the drive including your data backups outward the Time Equipment user interface as well as open the Backups.db adhered to by the computer system you desire to delete backups for.

5. Select an old data backup folder (labelled by day of backup).

6. Click the Action (gear) icon in the Finder home window, as well as pick ‘Erase Data backup.’

apple iphone

When you click this, Time Machine will certainly spring to live, and will start to delete the old data backup files. Keep the drive connected while the old files are gotten rid of. Once they are gotten rid of, you can disconnect the drive.

This will just remove the selected data backups, yet make use of care to delete only the data backups that are no longer in use. By doing this, you release up area that Time Device is presently using. Time Equipment will occasionally eliminate old data backup files during the data backup procedure, however doing this can assist liberate area on a common drive even quicker.